Two Week Sadness

My brother called today and it amazed me. I haven’t heard from him in a while. Sometime between life and college we got caught up and did not utter a text or a call from each other. My family and I hardly ever mention anything that is wrong. We were brought up to think that no one should know your business, especially not your downfall. I knew he needed to talk to someone because he opened up so quickly.

It started off with a very excited hello since I haven’t spoken to him in a while and shortly he went into telling me his lack of motivation in the last two weeks. He was at a point where he did not leave the house for two weeks because he could not bring himself to do it. i asked him what he did that changed his pattern today, he told me he got up and just went out. I replied that he needed to go out everyday, that would be his solution. I know how emotional my brother and I are and I expressed that I felt the same exact way and went to seek counseling, maybe the same resource will be beneficial to him. Although i have not gone to the appointment yet, however knowing that it is there is comforting enough. Sometimes talking to the people around you is not enough because you do not want them to know or you do not want them to tell you everything is going to be okay.

It touched me to hear my brother express his feelings of sadness and lack of motivation because it meant he trusted me. His words touched my heart and hugged the feelings that drove me to the counseling center. It is interesting to think that we are both going through the same thing. I wonder if my sister is too?  Maybe we are all in extreme sadness.

2 thoughts on “Two Week Sadness

Leave a Reply

