Why The Hell Not?

Yesterday I went to my cousins boxing fight. It was so nice to see everyone in their shirts and people asking about where we got our shirts from. It felt that we were united and we stood out as a unit. Yesterday marked his record to be 7-0 with 4ko’s. How exciting is that? But what is even more exciting is seeing a dream come alive.

Too often in our family we fear to take risk because we think it may lead to failure. Its not steady or constant, it is much like in the moment. There is no salary. Much like boxing, or in my case- writing. But these risks and fears stop us from being alive because we are too worried about negative outcomes and not enough focused on the positive ones. What about the reward of doing something you love? Is that not better than money? Is that not why we are bloggers?

I recently learned that fear is a choice. We could choose to believe it or to ignore it. My cousins fight for his boxing career and actual fight in the ring continues to put me in focus and allow me to move forward with writing and what I want to do with my life. I hope to one day figure out how I could mix in my dreams and my passions. Or at least have the opportunity to make my dreams come true through my passions even if it is at different stages of my life.

I learned that fear is not real and many times we have to be like birds and just fly until we feel in our hearts that we are at a place good enough. Why not take risk? Even with the fear of falling, isn’t trying to fly and finding a magical place all worth it? Why spend your life wondering what if when you can spend your life wondering why the hell not.

So I woke up and got my first tattoo today. I have been thinking about it for a while and decided it was time, and today felt like the right day because why the hell not.

6 thoughts on “Why The Hell Not?

  1. stormy1812 says:

    Awesome! Love this post. I like everything about it. You’re so spot on with the whole why ask why…instead ask…why not. I love the whole “fear is not real.” I agree. If we give fear credence it wins but if we don’t, then it doesn’t exist. Love the tattoo! I never was brave enough to get one lol oh the irony. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jamerly says:

      Oh my goodness, I have been looking for you for such a long time! I hope everything is great and you are doing great. Thank you so much for all the kind words. And thank you, getting this tattoo was a big step for me and I felt it was the perfect moment. I think you will do well with a tattoo, once the pain is there it is constant till the end and you kind of get use to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • stormy1812 says:

        yes, I’m sorry I’ve been gone. So much has happened in the last couple of months in particular and then before that, just been grappling with being uninspired and other issues but I’m working on it. 🙂 And you’re very welcome! Maybe one day I’ll get one lol.

        Like

Leave a Reply

