Through The Pieces Of My Loved Ones

I believe that I am more than myself. I am my grandmother, my mom, my dad, my brother, my sister, my nieces, my cousins, and my friends.

Every conversation with my grandmother is as if I am speaking to God, not because she believes in him immensely or cites the bible, but because what people look for in God I see in my grandmother. She is my faith when she tells me I will be successful, my hope when she assures me that better things will come, and my savior when I lose myself.

For my mother, womanhood meant cooking and cleaning for her family. However, her mother-in-law took over my mother lost her identity as a woman. She sacrificed her ideal home so that I could have a house. Her lips silenced the verbal and physical abuse she experienced ever since she met my dad, from everyone but him. I see my mom as a reflection of myself. We are both willing to sacrifice and suffer for the benefits of our loved ones.

My hands are reminiscent of my father because they are essential to living yet easily forgotten. He works 12 hours a day, seven days a week, helping out others in between. Whenever I remember my hands exist, I see my father’s dedication to me.

I believe my dreams can come true because of my brother. He inspires me to imagine being a writer and make it my reality. He believed in me when my parents didn’t, assuring me that I could be the next J.K Rowling.

When I see my sister, I see risks. Through her change of jobs every few months, she inspires me to seek happiness when it is lacking. She allows me to believe that change is okay and to ignore the people that do not agree. Those who love you will love you regardless.

I am the youngest; I had to mature quickly to fit in with my siblings because they were nine, ten years older than me. Through my nieces I find a childhood I lost when I was seven. They remind me to be honest, bold, driven, but most importantly, imaginative.

When I see my cousins I envision happiness. I hear a giggle in me I forgot I had.

Even through family rivalry, we will always be close as we talk about boys that don’t exist and make up our lives through snippets of TBS movies.

My friends give me a new world in my universe, a world where who I become is a reflection of what I want to be. My decisions are MY decisions. My friends taught me it is okay not to be okay. I no longer had to cry in solitude, they became the walls that heard me. They engulf my true self.

I believe that I am made whole, through the pieces of my loved ones.

I believe that I am more than myself. I am my grandmother, my mom, my dad, my brother, my sister, my nieces, my cousins, and my friends.

Every conversation with my grandmother is as if I am speaking to God, not because she believes in him immensely or cites the bible, but because what people look for in God I see in my grandmother. She is my faith when she tells me I will be successful, my hope when she assures me that better things will come, and my savior when I lose myself.

For my mother, womanhood meant cooking and cleaning for her family. However, her mother-in-law took over my mother lost her identity as a woman. She sacrificed her ideal home so that I could have a house. Her lips silenced the verbal and physical abuse she experienced ever since she met my dad, from everyone but him. I see my mom as a reflection of myself. We are both willing to sacrifice and suffer for the benefits of our loved ones.

My hands are reminiscent of my father because they are essential to living yet easily forgotten. He works 12 hours a day, seven days a week, helping out others in between. Whenever I remember my hands exist, I see my father’s dedication to me.

I believe my dreams can come true because of my brother. He inspires me to imagine being a writer and make it my reality. He believed in me when my parents didn’t, assuring me that I could be the next J.K Rowling.

When I see my sister, I see risks. Through her change of jobs every few months, she inspires me to seek happiness when it is lacking. She allows me to believe that change is okay and to ignore the people that do not agree. Those who love you will love you regardless.

I am the youngest; I had to mature quickly to fit in with my siblings because they were nine, ten years older than me. Through my nieces I find a childhood I lost when I was seven. They remind me to be honest, bold, driven, but most importantly, imaginative.

When I see my cousins I envision happiness. I hear a giggle in me I forgot I had.

Even through family rivalry, we will always be close as we talk about boys that don’t exist and make up our lives through snippets of TBS movies.

My friends give me a new world in my universe, a world where who I become is a reflection of what I want to be. My decisions are MY decisions. My friends taught me it is okay not to be okay. I no longer had to cry in solitude, they became the walls that heard me. They engulf my true self.

I believe that I am made whole, through the pieces of my loved ones.

Leave a Reply

