Tattoo My Body

I want to tattoo my body with everything but ink

I want parts of my body to resemble an experience

One that my body will never forget even when my mind is lost

I want to be 80 and look at a scar in the middle of my leg right under my knee and think of the time that my leg got caught in the front wheel of a bike

Or just invent a story close enough so that I can assure myself even after life has twisted and turned my point of view

I can still imagine

I want to tattoo my body with everything but ink

I want parts of my body to scream hurt and other parts to whisper happiness

So that when I can no longer see, I am able to hear what I have been through

Later, I will notice the voice to be my own

As we recognize how lucky we are to be alive

I want to tattoo my body with truth

I want parts of my body to flinch with the presence of someones hand

So that they know it’s sacred and its a present they can never give back

I want to tattoo my body with words I wish to never forget

Like happiness is a choice, beauty is within, and wisdom is everywhere

I want to acknowledge the small experiences that make the world go round

Like the way all humans experience hurt but we often feel alone because we condemn talking about it

I want to tattoo my body with names of all those who made me

I want to remember my mother who gives up her last bill to pleasure me

My dad who works 24/7 to support everyone but himself

My sister who reminds me how big her heart is every time she looks at her daughter

My brother who always ask me if I am okay even when he is not

My cousins who always show me a good time and are a hundred percent supportive

My teachers for believing in me and making me believe in myself

And my friends for reminding me that there are bigger problems aside from our first world issues like not knowing which outfit looks best

I want to tattoo my body with my life

So I may never forget

I want to use ink so that everyone could remember, I am human too

And when I am in my casket, since I know no one will grant me the pleasure of burning my soul and throwing it into the ocean so I can at last be free

I want the little creatures to eat every scar, scream, whisper, laughter, name, hurt, and wisdom

So that when they too die

They can remember

We once existed together

2 thoughts on “Tattoo My Body

Leave a Reply

