I am a writer

Today’s Daily Prompt: “Tell us about your first day at something — your first day of school, first day of work, first day living on your own, first day blogging, first day as a parent, whatever.”

I was sitting on my bed trying to decide what my passion was. So that I can acknowledge what that then made me.  I thought of all the things I was not. A singer, a dancer, an artist, and that’s where that stopped because no one ever thinks of being talented if one of those three things. I classified myself as untalented. And I wrote about it.

I shared my poems and stories with my brother (a great influence of mine)  and he told me that I was a really good writer. A writer? Hmmm… a writer. Is that what I was ? Does that count as something that I can classify as a talent? It did, and I, I was a writer, and a good one at that. 

That was the day I realized I was a good writer. I was no longer simply someone who wrote but someone who saw herself as a writer. 

The challenge was to be a great writer. It is to make everyone believe in me just as much as my brother does. To make the world see and believe all that I have to offer and all that they have to learn. 

I am a writer. 

11 thoughts on “I am a writer

Leave a Reply

